The Arc of Christian Theology Is Long and Bends Toward a Standard Sacred Text

Generally speaking the doctrines of the Christian faith can be sorted into ten main categories: Theology Proper, Christology, Pneumatology, Bibliology, Anthropology, Hamartiology, Soteriology, Ecclesiology, Angelology, and Eschatology. It seems from these ten doctrines that the case for a standard sacred text is evidently and substantively manifest.

Given the advent of the tower of Babel we know that not all people speak and read the same language. So with this caveat in the place, it seems unnecessary to argue for a standard sacred text for all people, at least at this time in human history. That said, where the Christian religion is present, and where the above Christian theology is sufficiently present, it stand to reason that those Christians in that place given their sufficiently robust Christian theology would bend toward a standard sacred text.

Consider the following:

1.) Theology Proper or the Doctrine of God – The is one Holy God and therefore one standard sacred Revealer whose revelation is consistent with His oneness. Therefore, it is rational to conclude that what God reveals is standard and sacred. If what He reveals is in a book, His revelation is not only standard and sacred, but it is also text.

2.) Christology or the Doctrine of Christ – There is one mediator between God and man. There is one Messiah. There is one fullest and final revelation of the Father. That one is Jesus Christ. Therefore, it stands to reason that there is one standard sacred revelation of Christ to us.

3.) Pneumatology or the Doctrine of the Holy Spirit – There is one creative and indwelling Holy Spirit. There is only one Holy Spirit who indwells believers. There is only one Holy Spirit that carried holy men as they spoke. Therefore, it stands to reason that this unique Holy Spirit gave a singular standard sacred autographic text.

4.) Bibliology or the Doctrine of Scripture – We here at have offered philosophical, exegetical, and theological arguments showing the warranted and rational nature of holding to the belief that God has given the English-speaking Church as standard sacred text.

5.) Anthropology or the Doctrine of Man – Only man is created in the image of God and only man can be redeemed by the shed blood of Christ and only man can come to know this truth unto salvation and only this truth can come through Scripture and only that which is from the one Triune God can count as Scripture. Therefore, it is reasonable that there be one standards sacred text for the English-speaking church.

6.) Hamartiology or the Doctrine of Sin – Only the one Triune God can determine what is or is not sin. God through the standard sacred text of the ten commandments determined what is sin and what is not. As such, Paul professes that until he had known the law he had not known sin. So the one Triune God is the giver of the only written moral code to give humanity the only true measure of morality. Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude that the only true measure of morality be a standard sacred measure and that that measure be found in a canonical – the rule, read, and standard – text.

7.) Soteriology or the Doctrine of Salvation – There is only one way to Heaven and there is only sacrifice which can secure that salvation – Jesus death on the cross for your sins. There is only one place to find the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus Christ effectual set forth as the means of our salvation and that place is in the words of the Triune God. Therefore it is reasonable to conclude that the place from which we learn of our salvation be a standard sacred place and that that place be in a text.

8.) Ecclesiology or the Doctrine of the Church – There is only one Bride of Christ and that Bride is the Church or community of blood-bought Christians throughout all time. There is one God, one Christ, and one sacred religion. Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude that that religion rest on one standard sacred foundation, and seeing that faith comes by hearing the word of God, that foundation is Christ a revealed through the standard sacred text called the word of God.

9.) Angelology or the Doctrine of Angels – It follows from the Lord’s Prayer, “Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven,” that God’s will is perfectly done in heaven. Furthermore, the law was received by the disposition of angels [Acts 7:53]. Seeing that God is one and that His will is one then all the words of God which Israel received by the disposition of angels must also be one. Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude that the reception of the word via the disposition of angels, who obey God perfectly, is the reception of one standard sacred word.

10.) Eschatology or the Doctrine of Last Thing – I already dealt with that yesterday with this post.

Even if you don’t grant me a standard sacred text by inductive inference, though I think you should, it seems that you must grant me abductive inference. For what other perspective of the Bible can account for a standard sacred God, a standard sacred word, a standard sacred message, a standard sacred moral code, a standard sacred Savior, a standard sacred Faith, a standard sacred work of the Holy Spirit, a standard sacred revelation of the divine will of God, and a standard sacred eschatological version of Christ’s teaching than an standard sacred text?

Indeed, the arc of Christian theology is long and it bends toward a standard sacred text.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: